Multiculturalism?

In many countries in the West there is a debate about Multiculturalism. Some people see it as a good thing that enriches people’s lives with difference experiences and should be fully embraced. Others feel a sense of fear of losing their culture and their cultural identity. I think this shows that there are both good and bad things about multiculturalism.

One of the things I like about multiculturalism is bringing in new ‘foreign’ foods. Some of them have an inviting smell that waters the mouth.  They are ‘foreign’ to the local scene but this doesn’t make them attractive to people.

When we start to follow Jesus we enter the kingdom of God. We are no longer ‘strangers and aliens’ (Eph 2:19) to God’s people but are part of God’s family. Then we become ‘citizens of heaven’ rather than this world, and therefore are ‘aliens’ in this world.

For some our ‘being foreign’ (or ontoxenos) will be a negative thing. Jesus’ died for our sins because none of us are ‘good enough’. Some people get offended with the idea of not being good enough. When we live out a life that truly knows we aren’t good enough to earn God’s love and just receive God’s love because he is love, this can offend some people.

On the other hand, if we truly live out loving one another as Jesus as loved us, then this will be attractive to others. When we truly live out a Christ centered community people will be attracted to this.

It makes me wonder how much I contribute to this sort of community. Where do I do this? How can I help this happen?

It also makes me wonder ‘how do others see my community’? Do they think it is loving? Do they think it is attractive?

6 thoughts on “Multiculturalism?

  1. Thanks for checking out our blog. I really like your gentle, loving spirit. I knew Loren Cunningham and my sister trained with YWAM in Switzerland.

    I guess I qualify as being cross-cultural if not mufti-cultural. I’ve been blessed to have planted churches among the poor in Taipei and the Gypsies in the U.S. My son is married to a Gypsy and continues the work among these old world people. My other son is a missionary among Muslims. He also ministers to the persecuted church. My daughter is married to a Punjabi, Am I proud of my children?, Of course, just shocked they turned out so well.

    Wade,
    retired pastor, missionary, chaplain, family counselor and ADHD therapist.
    I’ve led a rich life and the best is yet to come.

  2. Hi,

    I’m from Australia and find multiculturalism a bad thing.
    Sadly, my immigrant mother tends to reflect the racist tendencies that multiculturalism encourages. And having worked with many immigrants I have seen first hand the racism many bring with them and maintain. Also, as you suggested in your blog, multiculturalism attacks our national identity. I’ve often witnessed that immigrants belittle the national identity of the country they adopt, just so that they can promote the superiority of their own identity. In Australia we find our rights being eroded away along with our traditions, etc.

    Of course these truths I’ve shared are not politically correct and thus do not get aired through the mainstream media. Sadly the citizens of Western countries are told what to think by a politically correct mainstream media, and any dissenting thought is quickly demonized and silenced, as we found here in Australia. Is it any wonder the West is in such a mess.

    Having said that, your question on how to love others and contribute to members of the communities, is the most important issue.
    How should we contribute?
    We preach the gospel of Christ (before that too gets restricted so as not to offend other religions under multiculturalism).

    I find your reference to Eph 2 is very appropriate.
    The many different peoples, under the divisive tribalism of multiculturalism, often fit the description given in Eph 2:12, being “without Christ, being aliens from the commonwealth of Israel and strangers from the covenants of promise, having no hope and without God in the world.”

    But, if we preach the gospel of Christ to them, then they too have the opportunity to receive Christ and therefore be “no longer strangers and foreigners, but fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God.”

    This is what it is to be loving. The preaching the gospel of Christ is what separates the sheep from the goats, Matt 25.

    • Thanks for your comment. It can be a difficult issue. For many, cultural background is a big part of self understanding and identity.

      From a scriptural perspective, those who follow Christ shouldn’t really hold to our cultural too strongly. It should be surrendered as all parts of our life should be surrendered.

      As with all things that are dear to us, giving them up can be a challenge.

      • Logically, of course, it’s the immigrants coming to another country who should seek to assimilate, just as Christians do once we become “fellow citizens with the saints and members of the household of God Eph 2:19.

        In spite of my parents non-English immigrant background, I chose to be a Christian and Australian. My race and my parents cultural background does not identify who I am. I found that those immigrants who do use race to identify themselves are often racists.

        I agree with you that in becoming a Christian we should be giving up the things of this world. That includes race identity. Sadly for some Christians immigrants they cannot see past their race, hence they keep to own race based churches.

        As for multiculturalism, as I said before it brings with it divisive tribalism and the erosion of our rights, etc. In Australia free speech is under threat for fear of offending someone’s alleged ethic identity or religion, etc. Is it any surprise that few are preaching the gospel of Christ under such politically correct extremism.

      • Good point Nate, 🙂

        I see your point suggests that modern day extremism found in politically correct dogma such as multiculturalism, will separate the sheep from the goats and build up the true church, as it did in China and Russia.

Thanks for reading. What do you think? Do these questions relate to you? How?

