The Image

Noah

Aronofsky’s movie Noah attracted a lot of attention and comment when it first came out. It seems like he initially did a great job getting Christians on side only to disappoint them when the movie came out. There was one thing that he got right, in the biblical picture of the time of Noah, the world was filled with nasty people.

In Gen 9:6 we read God’s commandment not to shed human blood.  The reason given is that people are made in God’s image. There is something of value in people because they are made in God’s image. This passage is after the flood and it says that God’s image is still in all people – even after the world was filled violent nasty people. In other words, even in nasty violent people is the image of God. It carries on in people despite sin.

I sometimes go out to cafes or restaurants with friends to watch some sport. The last time I was out watching sports, there was some people who got passionate and hot tempered and acted in horribly offensive ways.

As I was leaving and thinking about those people and thinking about the movie Noah, I realised that I struggled to see something of God’s image in those people. I struggled to understand the value God puts on them. But I know he does, and I know that I need to respond to them with God’s love and compassion.

It also made me wonder if I fail to treat people as they deserved to be treated, not because of their actions, but because of the image of God in them. I wondered, what does it actually mean to me that other people have the image of God in them?

10 thoughts on “The Image

  1. I totally agree, I am trying to make the practice of cutting short my spontaneous critical response to people acting inappropriately in social settings and focusing instead on seeing them through the knowledge that God created them with purpose, and praying they find that life and meaning.

    • I like your thoughts. As believers, we sometimes treat unbelievers badly and speak of them in harsh ways. Certainly they do harsh things. I was once an atheist and once saved, I was astonished at my blindness to things of God. Unsaved people are simply blind to the image of God within them, we should not be. We need to love the unsaved and never condone bad behavior.

  2. You are right Nathan we are to Love everyone even our enemies and to do good to them but that does not mean we accept the evil they do and say, some can be very nasty and cruel and have no remorse.

    Yes in the Church we are to rebuke sin and correct error but as God tells in the world if we share His Truth some will not listen and we are to move on. Today the Laws of the Land bring there own penalty and so steeling and murder etc is punished but God tells us if a person goes on sinning they die Spiritually as Satan did, the absence of Love is evil and evil destroys.

    James 1:13 -15 Let no man say when he is tempted, I am tempted of God: for God cannot be tempted with evil, neither tempteth he any man: But every man is tempted, when he is drawn away of his own lust, and enticed. Then when lust hath conceived, it bringeth forth sin: and sin, when it is finished, bringeth forth death.

    But God tells us not to judge anyone’s Eternal Destiny, only He knows their heart, they may come to repentance before they die or even as they die by the good seeds that have been planted.

    Christian Love from both of us – Anne.

  3. This post brings a lot of things into the light. How can we be lights to the world when we are busy being critical? How can we show the love of God when we are hating the person instead of the sin? This is a thought-provoking post which made me look at my opinions and their resulting end.
    Thank you for this post!

  4. First I want to thank you for following my blog. I am flattered that you found something that inspired you to follow me there.
    Second, I want to comment on this post.
    I was a correctional officer for 7 yrs. During that time I was surrounded by some of the worst humans on the planet.
    That being said, it is true that even there you can find Gods influence in their hearts.
    I had an experience with an inmate on death row that changed me forever.
    He told me that we were the same.
    I argued and said we were nothing alike.
    He then blew my mind when he said…
    “We have both suffered at the hands of a monster, but I chose to let go of the light within, you chose to hold on to it, and if you ever let go of it, you will turn into me!”

    After thinking about this comment for a minute, I looked at him and thanked him for sharing that.
    I have never forgotten his words, and when I am ever tempted to let go and give up, I remember him sitting there behind those bars, and I find the courage to go on.

    I just felt that this experience was helpful in driving home the point that, yes God created us all in his image, and even when someone screws up bad enough to land on death row, they know that they chose to turn their back on the divinity within.

    • Thanks for your comments. That is an amazing story about the death row inmate. It is also a wonderful reaction of yours to appreciate it. I’m sure many would not be opening to hearing God speaking through such a man.

  5. Humptydumptymuralmagic, thank you for sharing that story of the man on death row. How very true and how challenging it is. It makes me want to shout out and warns those letting go of the light. How wonderful to remember that God does not let go of us, but holds us in the hollow of his hands, and when we become faithless He remains faithful! Thank you Lord!

Thanks for reading. What do you think? Do these questions relate to you? How?

