The Ram

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There is an old Don Moen song, Jehovah Jireh. When I was younger we used to play this a lot at church. It draws on Genesis 22:14 where Abraham calls God, ‘Jehovah Jireh’ (or more correctly Yahweh Jireh).

While the lyrics are fairly simple, there are some great claims in that song, ‘My God shall supply all my needs … He gives his angels charge over me’. It says that God will provide and protect us. These are some great thoughts and great things to sing. However, is it true to the context?

In Genesis 22:8 Abraham shows great faith that God will provide for him. He has been asked to sacrifice his son and shows his willingness to do so. It is only in the last possible moment that God responds and stops Abraham sacrificing his son. At that moment, God provides a ram for Abraham to sacrifice. It isn’t when he is at home. It isn’t when he is on the way. It is at the last possible moment, when Abraham has shown his willingness to obey God in everything and lay down the one thing that represents his whole legacy.

It leaves me wondering about songs and lyrics. I have some friends who struggle with the ‘promises’ of God. They are preached in church and sung about in songs, but what is their context? Can I just sit at home and ‘claim’ these ‘promises’? Or do I have to be obeying God and laying down all that is dear to me before I really see him provide?

One thought on “The Ram

  1. I agree, people get caught up in the music and sometimes the lyrics mislead. Selfishly we want the promises to work for us, but the way to the Promiser is through death – that of Jesus to save us and ours to serve the Saviour. The promises are like dessert, nice but not necessary. I wish Christians would spend more focus on obedience than what they can get out of the deal!
    Peace

Thanks for reading. What do you think? Do these questions relate to you? How?

