Bonding time

Mat 6:32-33 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

Mat_14:23 And after Jesus had dismissed the crowds, he went up on the mountain by himself to pray.

Yesterday afternoon while my wife and daughter were sleeping I was looking after my son. It is easy to spend time with him. At that time I had lots of other things that needed to get done, but I chose to just enjoy spending time with him and invest in the relationship. I knew that further down the track I would reap from spending time with him, through bonding and in helping his development as a little person. I also know that I will never again get that time with my baby boy.

At the time it made me think about my relationship with God. I always have lots of things that need to get done but I thought how much God would want to invest in our relationship. God wants to help develop my spirituality. He wants to increase the bond in our relationship. He wants to reap a great crop from my life. And that is just from God’s side.

I ask myself, to compare the things that I feel need to be done with the things God wants to do for me? And I too busy being like ‘the Gentiles’ to seek after the kingdom of God in my own heart? Or am I allowing God to invest in me and let him provide the things he knows that I (and my family) need?

One thought on “Bonding time

  1. Good thoughts, and gentle nudge (called a hammer to the head, though a soft rubber one). I can never be reminded of this too much, too often, by too many people. I’ll add you to the list…
    Peace

Thanks for reading. What do you think? Do these questions relate to you? How?

